whitenoise

technology notes… mobile and embedded.

A trip Northward

with 2 comments

I have visited few countries and several cities over my short professional career,but all my life I have never been to Northern India. The farthest I have been was to Goa .

The opportunity finally came last month when I had to attend a personal dissertation for my Graduate studies.Ever since I came back I wanted to write about what I felt about the place . Here it is finally!

I start with a disclaimer that the views are mine alone and based on rather brief visit to these places.

Delhi My journey started on a flight from Hyderabad to NewDelhi.  I reached Delhi in the noon.   The Delhi airport is pretty huge ,much like the Hyderabad airport.  It was a sultry day and I was told to  take a ‘prepaid’ cab to ‘ISBT – Kashmere gate’ As someone accustomed to the   ‘sir taxi sir..sir hotel sir‘ calls by drivers  outside Hyderabad the environment was quite different. I finally found the taxi stand and a hesitant driver took me in.

Driving in Delhi requires guts and a certain among of harshness. If you are someone  who puts brakes at each pothole and slows downs for each speed breaker, better not try it in Delhi.  The person behind you does  not care and would drive though the holes,speed breakers  with impunity.

Cantonement,Chanakyapuri,Daula Khana,Dwarka,Karol bagh, Mahatma Gandhi marg  the names reminded me of my history lessons,of Mughal dynasties .  I finally got down at  Kashmere Gate of ISBT .The ISBT was not as what I expected it to be. It was  not the urbane terminal ,that you expect at the National capital.Rather it was  a mundane bus station .An enlarged version of the normal Mofussil bus stations you see in towns.  I looked around and found the Jaipur terminal.

In accordance to the universal law that governs us, the bus I was to  board had ‘just left’.  The next bus was at 10:00 pm in the night and I had 5 hours for that.  That was lot of time for me to roam around the streets of Delhi.

Chandni Chowk I had to go to the Fathepuri ,near old Delhi railway station to board the next bus .That is  where the private buses start. Thanks to the benevolence of some Delhiites ,I was shown the wrong route . I meandered and finally was walking on a very busy street .After few steps I looked at a board in  English.It read – ‘Chandni Chowk’. I’ve heard about this street quite a bit .Though I lost my way,  I was quite happy to be around one of the oldest streets in Delhi.

Among other shops,what amused me so much was the enormity of chat shops through the road. The connoisseur in me was curious to see the so many varieties of road side food. Kulfi, Faluda, Tokri ,Kachori, Masala Soda,Aloo Tikki and some more items that I see for the first time.  That  street is a haven for ‘Delhi Chat’. Quite overwhelmed with the choices available,I went into  a big shop in that zone.

rabri_faloodaI finally zeroed in on a Rabri Faluda as that looked the quite exotic,especially its preparation.I’ve not seen that back in Hyderabad.

I walked across the length of Chandini Chowk for almost a  kilometer,before  I concluded that I was shown
the wrong route. After much deliberation I finally reached Fatehpuri and the private bus stands. I waited for another 2 hours before  started my journey to Pilani,Rajasthan.

Pilani is a unique place and the BITS campus was quite unlike what I had expected it to be. There is lot more to my 3 day sojourn to North India.I will post about them pretty soon.

For the curious: The private bus stand was just a 100 meters to the left of Old Delhi railway station ,while I  walked almost 2 kms to the right to realize that.

Written by sujai

June 20, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Posted in life

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, driving in Hyderabad is not much different as well. You get the added bonus of the other versions of speed breakers – big protruding manhole covers and electric poles left in the middle of the road after road widening. Not to mention the not so occasional vehicle coming straight at you on the wrong side of the road 🙂

    Siva

    June 30, 2009 at 10:45 am

  2. All this happened because you didnt take me, hehehe 🙂

    Sharmila Sujai

    July 15, 2009 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

